Getr the latest COVID-19 information
New Hampshire Environmental Councils Logo
Website Name - an official New Hampshire Government website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size

New Hampshire Environmental Councils

New Hampshire has four independent environmental councils: the Air Resources Council, Waste Management Council, Water Council, and Wetlands Council. The councils are separate and distinct from each other and from the New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services. The councils were established pursuant to RSA 21-O and serve the citizens and businesses of the State, regarding matters within their respective jurisdictions, by:

  • Providing consultation and advice to the Department regarding policies, programs, goals, and operations, with an emphasis on long-range planning and educating the public relative to the functions of the Department;
  • Hearing and deciding administrative appeals from certain Department decisions (RSA 21-O:14 Administrative Appeals);
  • Reviewing and providing comment on rules proposed to be adopted by the Department.

Council members represent diverse stakeholders, including industry, municipal government, recreation, environmental/conservation, and public health. Council members must be New Hampshire residents and are appointed by the Governor with the consent of the Executive Council for a term of four years.

29 Hazen Drive   |  PO Box 95  |  Concord, NH 03302-0095
(603) 271-3503  |  TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964  |  Hours: M-F, 8 AM-4 PM

29 Hazen Drive   |  PO Box 95
Concord, NH 03302-0095
(603) 271-3503
TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964
Hours: M-F, 8 AM-4 PM